Skip to content

Annual Social Justice Award

Established in 2019, the College of Education Annual Social Justice Award honors a pre-tenured faculty member or a career-line faculty member with less than seven years in the College of Education who has:   

  • Sustained record to address marginalization, oppression, and/or privilege through their academic, co-curricular, and/or social community engagement.
  • Sustained record of contributions to areas such as civil rights, education, public health, environmental justice or social justice.
  • Sustained record of community or organizational change that supports communities through creation and/or leadership in community organizations, non-profits, and engaged scholarship and or grants associated with work in these areas.
Dr. Leticia Alvarez Gutierrez


Leticia Alvarez Gutierrez
Department of Education, Culture & Society
View Profile


Dr. Erin Castro


Erin Castro 
Department of Educational Leadership & Policy

View Profile


Last Updated: 11/11/22