To: Public School Educators
From: College of Education, University of Utah
Re: Reduced Tuition Classes for Public School Educators (House Bill 211)
As you may know, public school educators have been granted a tuition benefit for university-sponsored professional development coursework. For those eligible and interested in taking coursework at the University of Utah, that means that you can enroll in university post-baccalaureate coursework for only $100 per semester plus fees. (Educators enrolled in graduate degree programs are not eligible for this opportunity.)
To participate in this opportunity:
- Verify your eligibility by reading the eligibility guidelines printed below.
- Apply to the University of Utah as a non-matriculated student by completing the non-matriculated student application form found at www.saff.utah.edu/admiss/appdownload/index.htm. Please note that the application deadline typically falls 2 or more months prior to the beginning of each semester.
- After being admitted to the University of Utah as a non-matriculated student, register by submitting your completed Tuition Reduction form (below) to the Registrar's office. Do not register on-line! The registrar's office will notify you approximately one week prior to the first week of classes to verify if you have been approved for the tuition reduction benefit.
- Please be advised that no more than 9 credits hours of non-matriculated coursework can be applied to any subsequent graduate degree program.
As is normally the case, some classes may not be available because they are restricted to majors and/or require permission from the Instructor or department. Students taking classes under this program are subject to university policies and deadlines including add/drop, withdrawal, and payment deadlines.
University of Utah Registrar's Office
To qualify for a tuition waiver for teachers, the following conditions must be met:
10.1 "Educator " Defined - An educator is a person currently employed in the Utah public school system who is a licensed educator in good standing or has been issued a letter of authorization permitting such employment under Utah Code 53A-6-104, the Board Licensure section of the Educator Licensure and Professional Practices Act.
10.2 Tuition Waivers for Teachers - An educator who enrolls in a course of study determined by the State Board of Education to satisfy the professional development requirements of 53A-6-104(2)(b)(i) is exempt from the tuition charges for a class taken as part of that course of study provided that the following conditions are met:
10.2.1 Masters and Doctoral Degree Candidates - Because of the extensive involvement of faculty members in committees, mentoring, and counseling of masters and doctoral degree candidates, the concept of surplus space does not apply and such educators are not eligible for the exemption from tuition under this section.
10.2.2 Administrative Semester Registration Fee - The institution may charge an educator an administrative semester registration fee not to exceed $100 per semester to cover the actual increased costs associated with registration, verification of educator status, identification of eligible courses, certification of space availability, and record keeping.
10.2.3 Surplus Space Enrollment - The educator may be enrolled on the basis of surplus space as determined by the institution under these rules and guidelines as follows:
10.2.3.1 If a principle or substantial reason for the institution to offer the class is to serve educators, then no educator enrolled in that class can be considered to be enrolled on the basis of surplus space and, therefore, cannot be eligible for the exemption from tuition charges;
10.2.3.2 If the class meets the requirements of 53A-6-104(2)(b)(i) but does not have as a principle or substantial purpose to serve educators, then the institution shall define the optimum class size of the class in accordance with regular procedures and normal teaching loads in that space within the institution's approved budget. The number of surplus space enrollments available to educators is determined by subtracting from the optimum class size the number of tuition paying students enrolled in the class. The surplus space enrollments may then be filled by educators on a first come first served basis. However, in order to maintain the optimum class size, educators exempt from tuition may be bumped (last in, first out) by regular tuition paying students who later register for the class.