Skip to content

2012 Annual Report

College at a Glance

The College of Education jumped in the rankings last year, moving up 25 spots to number 66 in the nation.

  • Degree Programs: 26
  • Faculty/Staff: 127
  • External Research Grant Funding: $5,047,752.63
  • Publications: 161
  • Published articles: 86

Machu Pichu

International Initiatives

During the summer of 2012, Dr. Susan Johnston led the 3rd annual Study Abroad Program to Peru providing participants with hands-on opportunities to develop the knowledge and skills needed to become culturally competent and responsive professionals.

The Asian International Program helps students lead and succeed in a global community.

Faculty Accomplishments

Dr. William R. Jenson receives grant award from the U.S. Department of Education

Dr. Yongmei Ni awarded National Academy of Education/Spencer Postdoctoral Fellowship

Dr. Kirsten Butcher appointed Director of the Center for the Advancement of Technology in Education (CATE)

Kathy Hill awarded the ASUU Student Choice Award in Teaching

Dolores Delgado Bernal among this year's honorees for outstanding achievement in the field of education

Dr. William Smith awarded the Pete Suazo Social Justice Award

Dr. Robert D. Hill named ACE Fellow for academic year 2011-12

Mary Burbank selected as UNP 2011-2012 Community Scholar-in-Residence

Research Centers

The Center for Advancement of Technology in Education (CATE) was awarded a contract with the Utah System of Higher Education (USHE).

The UEPC expanded its capacity to engage in rigorous, timely research by developing relationships with educational leaders, schools, districts, and the state.

Annual Scholarship Banquet

Department Highlights

Congratulations to Professor Enrique Alemán, Andrea Rorrer, Laurence Parker, and doctoral candidate Tim Salazar, editors of a special Issue in the Peabody Journal of Education and authors of the lead article.

The Education, Culture & Society’s Family School Partnership (FSP) is an interdisciplinary project focused on enhancing the involvement of linguistically and culturally diverse students and families in the Salt Lake School District

Urban Institute for Teacher Education

The University of Utah Teacher Education Program has formally received national accreditation through the Teacher Education Accreditation Council (TEAC).


The College of Education's Adelante: A College Awareness and Preparatory Partnership has been chosen to receive the Annual Cesar Chavez Peace and Justice Award by the Utah Coalition of La Raza.

The Reading Clinic's summer program, “Getting Ready for 1st Grade,” has been featured in an article produced by KSL Radio.

The Stegner Young Writing Scholars Institute prepares Salt Lake students in advanced writing skills. This past summer’s Institute brought together 52 high school students and eight teachers for a two-week intensive classroom and lab writing experience.

Students & Alumni

Amy Bateman awarded 2012 Canyons School District teacher of the year award.

Matt Nelson named 2011-2012 Murray City School District Teacher of the Year.

Keith W. Martin hosted the Utah visit of H. E. Rachad Bouhlal, Ambassador to USA for the Kingdom of Morocco.

Karen Morgan announced that she will not seek re-election to Utah Senate District 8.

Lori Kopasz awarded Salt Lake City School District Special Education Teacher of the Year Award.

Nedra Hotchkins selected to serve as a NASPA Graduate Associate.

College Honors Distinguished Alumni

Lily Eskelsen is the recipient of the 2011-2012 College Distinguished Alumna Award.

Ann Weaver Hart is the recipient of the T.H. Bell Award for Lifetime Contributions to the Field of Education.

Development Report and Donor Recognition

The faculty, staff and students of the College wish to thank the many generous donors who have provided gifts over the course of the past year. We are grateful to have such loyal alumni and friends who are willing to support our academic, research, and community-engaged efforts.

Last Updated: 3/15/21